As The Day is Long

28 Jul

I have spent less than two days in Seattle, WA, and I have to say that it’s felt like I’ve been here for months. The city is definitely one of, if not the, friendliest city I have ever been to. The weather has been steady and comfortable at a warm 83°f and a cool of 52°f, and the wind is only a gentle breeze.  But that’s only the icing on the cake. The house I am staying in is built-in the shallow shore water of Lake Union facing a beautiful view of the University District. The sound of the water calmly bouncing is all I hear as I fall my sleepy head to rest, and as I wake it soothingly brings me to life.

Today (my second day) began at quarter past ten in the morning, with the jet lag hangover pulling me back into bed. I managed to keep my eyes wide for most of the day with the help of the circus/zoo that is the hustle and bustle of down town. There seems to be no shortage of crazy people but what really took me by surprise was how little fat people there where. Considering that this is the US of A I thought there would be no end to the fatty’s, I saw a countable amount of size disabled people, and most of them where just ridiculously tall. But then I realized it’s not how many fatsos there are, its how big the fatsos can get. I swear some of them are as heavy as their enormous cars, and others are too heavy to walk, and most of them have yet to eat their pride surprisingly.

I sat in on a meeting that some of Seattle’s leaders and writers were at, including the previous mayor and numerous press journalists. I watched them talk and discuss plans on what to do about a bridge that had collapsed years ago, and instead of changing the problem so it’s no longer noticeable to the public but still irritating (like the Bracks government), they have been discussing actual solutions on how to improve, and better from a situation that is only offering opportunities. Nearing the end of the meeting I was falling partial to the jet lag, and felt I needed an energy boost. I walked around the block, and absorbed as much vitamin D as I could and at the same time photographing cool and interesting things. I took a different route back to the meeting where I was properly introduced to some of the locally respected members of the Seattle community. After that my dad and I wondered around down town Seattle, grab a bite to eat from a grocery store (best ham and cheese sandwich I have ever had), and attempted some clothe shopping. I use the word attempt because we ran out of time as we where lining up and had to put all the clothes we picked out back. The store we tried shopping at is called “Ross” and it’s a clever store. Not for any technical reasons, but because what they do is: they buy retail clothing that can’t be soled at the retail store for dirt-cheap and slash the prices by 60% to 80%.

After that palaver we made our way to a book publishing company where I was to meet a mister Ed Marquand who is in charge. Up to the 3rd floor, and into an open office that was as aesthetically pleasing as breasts and with books covering 3 quarters of his walls. We chatted about books, and the comparison of the US and Australia, and then we got onto the topic of me and what I could do as far as work. Ed said he could use a helping hand in a new storage facility that was once used for apples and is now being changed into an art gallery located to the east of Seattle called Tieton. I was more than happy to oblige. After that, we rushed to the to catch the bus back to the lake house on lake Union to meet Mathew who would take us to the house I would be staying at for the next part of my journey in Seattle. He was truly a pleasant individual and had a quaint sense of humour. He took us up to their house and presented a humbly meal of steak, fish, salad, and rice followed closely by ice cream and peach cobbler. The night continued into late hours un-noticeably and ended with the chatter of intellectuals and the exchange of pleasantries.

I am quickly falling in love with this place, and I think it’s because it’s the least American place in the States.

paNoq

Leave a Reply

